Conference on Social Cognition, Engagement and the Second-Person Perspective

Interdisciplinary Conference, University of Cologne (Germany), May 25-27, 2012 on Social Cognition, Engagement and the Second-Person Perspective. Deadline for poster submission: March 1st, 2012

What are the psychological processes and neural mechanisms enabling social cognition? How might social cognition be modulated depending on whether one is actively engaged in social interaction with someone or merely observing others interact? What is the impact of this distinction for research methodologies in social psychology and social neuroscience as well as for our understanding of conditions like autism? In particular, this conference brings together experts from various fields to promote the prospects of a second-person approach for future research into the foundations of social cognition.




Speakers and Discussants
Cristina Becchio (Torino), Alan Costall (Portsmouth), Chris Frith (London), Uta Frith (London), Thomas Fuchs (Heidelberg), Shaun Gallagher (Memphis), Tobias Grossmann (Leipzig), Riita Hari (Helsinki), Günther Knoblich (Budapest), Agnes Kovacs (Budapest), Joel Krueger (Kopenhagen), Cade McCall (Leipzig), Victoria McGeer (Princeton), Albert Newen (Bochum), Vasudevi Reddy (Portsmouth), Erik Rietveld (Amsterdam), Norihiro Sadato (Tokyo), Leonhard Schilbach (Cologne), Tobias Schlicht (Bochum), Natalie Sebanz (Nijmegen), Corrado Sinigaglia (Milan), Nikolaus Steinbeis (Leipzig), Bert Timmermans (Cologne), Kai Vogeley (Cologne), Wako Yoshida (London).




Call for Posters
We invite submissions of high quality posters from any discipline on topics related to the main theme of the conference. Posters should be directly submitted in pdf format or by way of an abstract of approx. 500 words. Contact details – authors’ names, postal address, affiliation and e-mail address – should be given separately. Please submit your posters by email to Nike Zohm (nike.zohm (at) before March 1st, 2012!

Prof. Dr. Tobias Schlicht (Ruhr-Universität Bochum), Dr. Leonhard
Schilbach (Uniklinik Köln), Dr. Nikolaus Steinbeis (MPI for Human
Cognitive and Brain Sciences, Leipzig), Dr. Bert Timmermans (Uniklinik

Further Information

Comments Disabled